Fixing Jenny Block’s Math

Jenny Block’s sense of aggrandized entitlement over public space even skews her math.

Let’s revisit her manifesto paragraph:

The thing is, that leaves women clawing for scraps, when 50% of the goods, including space, is rightfully ours. I may only be 5’ tall and 100 pounds soaking wet. But that doesn’t make me entitled to any less space in the public sphere.

Yes. It does. You’re 5 feet tall and 100 pounds? I’m going to assume that corresponds to body measurements of about a 32 inch chest, 24 inch waist, and short arms and legs. I’m 6’4″, 200 pounds, with a 42 inch chest, 32 inch waist, and long arms and legs.

You’re half my mass, 5/6 of my height, and 2/3 to 3/4 of my width depending on our measuring point. Why should you be entitled to a full 50% of the available public space? In an equitable distribution, you would get somewhere between 1/3 of the space (based on our relative mass) to 40-45.4% of the space (based on relative measurements, with a truly fair compromise probably reached by a calculation of relative total bodily volume. I’d estimate your entitlement of public space between the two of us at 37.5 to 40%.

The other 60-62.5% is mine. And if I want to air out my balls, I will.

2 Comments on “Fixing Jenny Block’s Math”

  1. That math might work if the airlines charged me less for my seat than they charge you. But they don’t.

  2. logicate says:

    1. Public transit is not solely limited to airlines.
    2. Most public transit doesn’t charge you for a seat. It charges you for transportation from point A to point B.


Leave a Reply

